MATHCOUNTS Winners Head to State Competition
Posted on 02/07/2019
Northern Middle School First Place MATHCOUNTS Team

February 7, 2019


MATHCOUNTS Winners Head to State Competition

Teams from Calvert County middle schools captured three of the top five spots in the 25th annual regional Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) MATHCOUNTS competition held on February 2, 2019. Northern Middle brought home the first-place trophy, with Plum Point finishing in second place and Windy Hill in fifth. Mill Creek Middle School placed sixth. All four teams will advance to the state competition held on March 16 at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.

Dr. Daniel D. Curry, Superintendent, said, “We would like to thank SMECO for providing this opportunity for our students to showcase their ability and interest in mathematics.”

The local MATHCOUNTS competition features rounds of mathematics problems to challenge students one-on-one and as teams over the course of the three-hour event. First is the sprint round, a 30-question test that students complete individually. The competitors go next to the target round, where they have four sets of math problems and six minutes to complete each set of two questions.

In the individual competition, which is based on combined scores in the sprint and target rounds, Kyle Page from Northern Middle School placed first and Seth Hilton from Plum Point Middle School placed second.

The top 12 scorers finish the competition by facing each other in the countdown round, a single-elimination tournament in which students must respond verbally to questions in a matter of seconds. Avery Thompson from Leonardtown Middle School in St. Mary’s County finished first in the countdown round, and Hogan Joo from Northern Middle School placed second.

In the team round, foursomes of students answer 10 questions in 20 minutes. The members of the top scoring teams in Calvert County are:

Northern—Hogan Joo, Barbara Kaczmarek, Kyle Page, and Steven Vilcheck, coached by Carole Butler

Plum Point—Seth Hilton, Andrew Lamb, Tristen Millsaps, and Aidan Moreland, coached by Jonathan Moreland

Windy Hill—Ahnaf Anowar, Addison Fortenbery, Jackson Goehle, and Jasmine Simpson, coached by Tracy Greenwell

Mill Creek-- Melvin Cheng, Billy Clay, Nathan Farley, and Elena Saucedo, coached by Michelle Gregory

In addition to the team winners, three students from Northern Middle advanced as individuals to the state competition. They are Aidan Ford, Austin Hickey, and Grace Wood.


Edited February 12, 2019

Media Contact

Catherine Page


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.