Annual Elementary Mathematics Challenge

Winners of the 22nd Annual Elementary Mathematics Challenge
Posted on 03/13/2019

March 12, 2019


Winners of the 22nd Annual Elementary Mathematics Challenge

Patuxent Appeal Elementary Campus and Sunderland Elementary were victorious in the 22nd Annual Elementary Mathematics Challenge held on March 9, 2019 at Patuxent High School. Patuxent Appeal Elementary Campus captured the 4th grade top spot, and Sunderland won the 5th grade title.

Dr. Daniel D. Curry, Superintendent, said, “This event is a great opportunity for our high-achieving students. Thank you to all of the sponsors who devote their time to providing enrichment.”

During the event, which is jointly sponsored by the Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) and Calvert County Public Schools, participants competed individually and in teams of 7 to work through challenges that involve problem solving, computation and critical thinking skills.

The winners are:

Grade 4 Team Winners Sponsors
1st – Patuxent Appeal Campus Susan Sudnick
2nd – Mt. Harmony Elementary School Kim Bracey
3rd – Huntingtown Elementary School Jill Gabrielson
4th – Sunderland Elementary School Theresa Young
5th – Windy Hill Elementary School Lori Whitaker


Grade 5 Team Winners Sponsors
1st – Sunderland Elementary School Melissa Sydnor
2nd – Barstow Elementary School Steve Morris
3rd – Windy Hill Elementary School Nancy Sorzano
4th – Mutual Elementary School Monica Hendricks
5th – Mount Harmony Elementary School Kristy Kahler


Grade 4 Individual Winners

1st – Aaron Chen, Mt Harmony Elementary School

2nd – Logan Oberg, Sunderland Elementary School

3rd – Andrew Bisang, Mt. Harmony Elementary School

Grade 5 Individual Winners

1st – Samuel Richardson, Sunderland Elementary School

2nd – Ashlynn Vilcheck, Sunderland Elementary School

3rd – Lucas Pletcher, Sunderland Elementary School


Top School Scorer from Each School

School Grade 4 Grade 5
Barstow Elementary School Natalie Grosek Ella Stout
Beach Elementary School Ysabelle Marcum Nora Derrick
Dowell Elementary School Elijah Barrett Eva Christensen
Huntingtown Elementary School Tai Caudle Tanner Chapman
Mt. Harmony Elementary School Aaron Chen Boris Nusinzon
Mutual Elementary School Anton Van der Vossen Umair Meraj
Patuxent Appeal Campus Agustin David Virginia Moss
Plum Point Elementary School Emily Mulholland Rondy Le
St. Leonard Elementary School Ruby Bowen Noah Nukolczak
Sunderland Elementary School Logan Oberg Samuel Richardson
Windy Hill Elementary School Emerson Owings Oliver Diamond




Media Contact

Catherine Page


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.