SMECO Honors Math & Science Teachers

SMECO Honors Outstanding CCPS Math and Science Teachers
Posted on 04/22/2021

April 22, 2021


SMECO Honors Outstanding CCPS Math and Science Teachers

Congratulations to the eight Calvert County Public Schools teachers who received Outstanding Teacher awards from the Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO). SMECO annually honors teachers in St. Mary’s, Charles, and Calvert Counties for their leadership in the fields of mathematics, science, technology, and engineering.

Dr. Daniel D. Curry, Superintendent, said, “Our teachers have done an extraordinary job in a year of extraordinary circumstances. Thank you to SMECO for continuing their tradition of recognizing their fine work.”

The teachers were chosen for their outstanding performance in the areas of creativity, rapport with students, enthusiasm for teaching, professionalism, and innovative teaching methods. Each teacher receives a plaque and a cash award. In 30 years, SMECO has recognized 435 local math and science teachers.

“We’re honoring some extraordinary teachers. We usually host a dinner for our award recipients, but the fact that we are able to celebrate via Zoom, using cell phones, mobile devices, and the internet, shows how important science and technology are to our lives,” explained Sonja Cox, SMECO president and CEO.

“We are recognizing these teachers for their accomplishments because their contribution to educating students is important to SMECO. Our cooperative and our community benefit from the solid foundation these teachers provide.” Cox continued, “Whether they are teaching students in person or online, educators must be resourceful, flexible, and caring. These qualities have become even more essential because of the COVID-19 pandemic. And, as we have learned over the past year, a good education and experienced teachers have never been more important.”

The honored teachers from Calvert County Public Schools are:


Linda Bailey, Windy Hill Middle School, STEM

Jennifer Bodden, Huntingtown High School, Science

David Goodrich, Patuxent High School, Mathematics

Jennifer Lawrence, Mount Harmony Elementary School, Mathematics

Sarah Legge, Windy Hill Middle School, Science

Michelle O’Donnell, Northern High School, Science

Karen Pirchio, Windy Hill Elementary School, Science

Karl Sturge, Calvert High School, STEM

Photos of the winning teachers are available on the SMECO website: SMECO Outstanding Teachers 2021 | Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative




Media Contact

Catherine Page


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.